Below is the team of Governors at Our Lady St John Catholic College.
Click on a name below to view more information about them!

To contact the Governors, please write to the school at the address below and your letter will be forwarded to the appropriate governor.

Our Lady & St John Catholic College, North Road, Blackburn, BB1 1PY.

Mr Mike Zammit: Foundation Governor (Chair of Governors)

Mr Mike Zammit

I have been in the IT industry for more than 40 years, I have BSc in IT and Computing from the Open University and I am a Chartered IT Professional. Until August 2014 I was Director of ITM&G for Blackburn with Darwen Council and it was while working for the Council that I became involved with Our Lady and St John’s Catholic College. Since leaving Blackburn with Darwen, I have taken up a similar position with Wirral Council and I currently work in Birkenhead. I enjoy my involvement with Our Lady and St John and I look forward to maintaining that relationship for a long time to come.

Mr Brian McNulty: Foundation Governor

Image not available for Mr Brian McNulty

I have been in the education sector for many years starting as a science teacher with my last positon as Headteacher at St Matthews in Manchester for 22 years. I have also served as a Magistrate on the Manchester bench for 26 years. I am currently a Salford Diocesan Representative for the Education Department and Manager of the Catholic Leadership Programme.

Mrs Barbara Rogers (CBE): Foundation Governor

Mrs Barbara Rogers (CBE)

I am a National Leader of Education and Executive Principal of St. Patrick’s RC High School (A National Teaching School) and have been in this position since 2005. I have also previously worked as an Ofsted Inspector.

Mr Francis Dixon: Foundation Governor

Mr Francis Dixon

I retired as Principal of St Mary’s College,  Blackburn, in March 2017. I am a Physics graduate (Manchester University 1977) and have taught and held management positions in schools and colleges in Blackburn, Bristol, St Helens and Wigan. I am now engaged in voluntary work in my local community of Wigan and in supporting my family.

Father Jude Harrison: Foundation Governor

Image not available for Father Jude Harrison

Originally from Burnley, but have been parish priest serving the people of St Alban's R.C Church Blackburn for almost 30 years and in more recent years taken over the stewardship of the Good Shepherd Church and Holy Souls Church. I have previously served as the Chair of Governors for Our Lady & St John and I remain a governor for St Alban's R.C Primary School, Blackburn. I assist the schools development of Catholic Ethos and Spirituality. I have a love for football and have led for many years the HCPT Group 72 Pilgrimages to Lourdes.

Mr Patrick Murden: Executive Principal

Mr Patrick Murden

My role is the Executive Principal with statutory ownership of both Our Lady and St John and St Patrick’s RC High. As a Teaching School, we are responsible for co-ordinating school improvement work across Salford LA, supporting school improvement in the Diocese and across our Teaching School Alliance.


Before Teaching, I originally qualified with a law degree in 1997 before working in the finance sector for Deloitte’s and then Abbey National. I re-trained and qualified as a teacher in 2001, working in 5 Catholic schools to date. We currently support 34 schools through our outreach work


Mrs Grace Rothery: Foundation Governor

Mrs Grace Rothery

I have been a member of the Governing Body of Our Lady & St John Catholic College since September 2016. I am a qualified solicitor with over 12 years’ experience working in Legal roles. I am currently the Head of the UK business of Gazprom Energy, a B2B gas supplier based in Manchester.


Mrs Helen Holden: Associate Member

Image not available for Mrs Helen Holden

I initially joined Our Lady and St John's as part of the IEB in 2014, helping move the school out of special measures.  When the new governing body was formed in September 2016 I became an Associate Member.


I am currently a stay at home Mum to my 2 year old, but previously worked for Capita Education Software Services supporting Local Authorities across the country in their use of the management information system, SIMS in their schools.


I am also the Chair of Governors at Lammack Primary School, Chair of the Governors Forum in Blackburn with Darwen and a secondary governor representative on Blackbun with Darwen Schools Forum.


Mr Peter Tite: Headteacher

Mr Peter Tite

Mrs Marie Rishton: Staff Governor

Mrs Marie Rishton

I have enjoyed a teaching career at Our Lady & St John for 14 years and presently hold the post of Curriculum Leader for Religious Education. As a past pupil of the school I feel passionate about the journey that the school is on and the provision to provide the best possible outcomes for the young people in our school community. I also serve as a foundation governor at a partner primary school.

Mrs Lisa-Marie Mason: Parent Governor

Image not available for Mrs Lisa-Marie Mason

As well as being a parent governor having had 2 sons already through the school and one in current Year 10, I also work at our partner primary of Our Lady of Perpetual Succour.

Mr Andrew Hutchinson: Clerk

Image not available for Mr Andrew Hutchinson

I have supported the school as clerk to the Governing Body for the past 2 years and currently lead Blackburn with Darwen’s Governance and Liaison Service. I have previously served as a Foundation Governor and Vice Chair of my children’s primary school. Away from work I enjoy keeping fit by playing football, running and cycling.