Head of Department: Mr J Kelly


The Computing Department at OLSJ has three dedicated Computing suites which are stocked with up-to-date equipment. During KS3 and 4, pupils are taught a programme of study which covers the new Computing Curriculum. This is made up of Digital Literacy, Computer Science and Information Technology strands. Pupils learn how to use various packages from the Office suite to advanced software such as Flash and Photoshop. Pupils have access to a range of technologies including webcams, digital cameras, Macs and PCs. All pupils are provided with a school email address and have access to their school documents through the school website and Office 365. All pupils have access to an up-to-date computer network in several dedicated computer suites, with all software necessary for studying Computing to GCSE level. 

Key Stage 3

Year 7

  • Using the Network at OLSJ
  • E-safety
  • Scratch
  • PowerPoint
  • Spreadsheets
  • Animation

Year 8

  • E-Safety
  • Game Design
  • HTML
  • Python programming
  • Desktop Publishing
  • Photoshop
  • Hardware
  • Software
  • Systems

Key Stage 4

During KS4 pupils have a choice of studying ICT or Computer Science. For both courses, they have 3 lessons a week. For more information please use the links in the sidebar.

Year 9

Edexcel: Controlled Assessment Skills
Pupils learn the basic skills they will need to carry out the controlled assignment element of this course: Desktop Publishing, Spreadsheets, Audacity, Photoshop, Databases, PowerPoint, Web Design
OCR: Controlled Assessment Skills
Pupils learn the basic skills they will need to carry out the controlled assignment element of this course: Advanced Scratch programming, Computational Thinking, Programming in Python.

Year 10

Edexcel: Unit 2: Using Digital Tools (Controlled Assessment)
This is a practical unit. Students broaden and enhance their ICT skills and capability. They work with a range of digital tools and techniques to produce effective ICT solutions in a range of contexts. They learn to reflect critically on their own and others’ use of ICT and to adopt safe, secure and responsible practice.
Controlled Assessment Portfolio – 40 hours - 60%

OCR: Unit 2: Practical Investigation (controlled assessment)
An investigative computing task, chosen from a list provided by OCR, which assesses the following: research, technical understanding, analysis of problem, historical perspective, use of technical writing, recommendations/evaluation.
Controlled Assessment Portfolio - 30%

Unit 3: Programming Project (controlled assessment)
Students will be able to design and create a coded solution to a problem which is set by the exam board.
Controlled Assessment Portfolio - 30%

Year 11

Edexcel: Unit 1: Living in a digital world – Core Unit
In this unit students explore how digital technology impacts on the lives of individuals, organizations and society. They learn about current and emerging digital technologies and the issues raised by their use in a range of contexts (learning and earning, leisure, shopping and money management, health and wellbeing and on the move).
Written paper – 1 hour 30 minutes - 40%

OCR: Unit 1: Computer Systems and Programming (exam)
This unit covers the body of knowledge about computer systems and programming.
Written paper – 1 hour 30 minutes - 40%

European Computer Driving License (level 2 equivalent of 1 GCSE)

  • ECDL is the world’s number one IT user qualification—and the benchmark for digital literacy in educational systems around the globe.
  • ECDL equips you with the skills to use a computer confidently and effectively, building on existing knowledge and motivating further learning.
  • The qualification builds a more productive and efficient learner. The course promotes e-learning and automated exam testing to give confidence to all participants.
  • ECDL Level 2 in Application Skills is a qualification that employers recognise and look for in school graduates

Units of study:

The course is split into the following four exam units which will be conducted online:

  1. Word processing
  2. Spreadsheet software
  3. Presentation software
  4. Improving productivity using IT


This qualification is the equivalent of a GCSE and is offered at Level 2.
Level 2 enables students to gain grades A* to C.

The four tier grading structure gives learners appropriate recognition for their efforts:

  • Distinction* 58 points (A*)
  • Distinction 52 points (A)
  • Merit 46 points (B)
  • Pass 40 points (C)

All four units are Exam based, carried out online, are externally marked and there is no coursework element.


All students have been given a username and password for a revision site to help them prepare for their examinations.