Science

Subject: Science
Head of Faculty : Miss R Tickle


Contact Email: Rtickle@olsj.blackburn.sch.uk

Subject Curriculum Intent:

A high-quality science education provides the foundations for understanding the world through the specific disciplines of biology, chemistry, and physics. Science has changed our lives and is vital to the world’s future prosperity, and all pupils should be taught essential aspects of the knowledge, methods, processes and uses of science. Through building up a body of key foundational knowledge and concepts, pupils should be encouraged to recognise the power of rational explanation and develop a sense of excitement and curiosity about natural phenomena. They should be encouraged to
understand how science can be used to explain what is occurring, predict how things will behave, and analyse causes.

The OLSJ Science department aim to ensure that all students:


*develop scientific knowledge and conceptual understanding through the specific   disciplines of biology, chemistry, and physics.
*develop understanding of the nature, processes, and methods of science through   different types of science enquiries that help them to answer scientific questions about   the world around them.
*are equipped with the scientific knowledge required to understand the uses and   implications of science, today and for the future.

Assessment details:

Before each unit students complete a baseline assessment to establish starting point. Student’s complete low stakes testing throughout the unit and a formative assessment at the end of the unit.

Termly students complete a cumulative assessment on google forms.

In Year 11 students will complete six written exam papers: two biology, two chemistry and two physics. Each of the papers will assess knowledge and understanding from distinct topic areas.

Students can be entered for Foundation or Higher Tier. Each paper is out of 70 marks and is worth 16.7% of the Science GCSE.

AQA link: AQA | Science | GCSE | Combined Science: Trilogy

Staff list:
Staff.                            Role                                           Email
Miss R Tickle.              Director of Science                    rtickle@olsj.blackburn.sch.uk
Mr. R Humphries.        2nd in Science                           rhumphries@olsjblackburn.sch.uk
Mr T Astin                    Lead Practitioner Science          tastin@olsjblackburn.sch.uk
Mrs S Taylor                Assistant Headteacher               staylor@olsj.backburn.sch.uk
Mrs J Georgy              Teacher of Science/HOY7          jgeorgy@olsj.blackburn.sch.uk
Miss S Firfire.              Teacher of Science                    sfirfire@olsj.blackburn.sch.uk
Mr M J Amin.               Teacher of Science.                   mamin@olsj.blackburn.sch.uk
Miss N Makda             Teacher of Science.                   nmakda@olsj.blackburn.sch.uk
Mrs S Davies              Science Technician                    sdavies@olsj.blackburn.sch.uk

Extra-curricular information: Science club